Everyday lip color

Soccer Mom Style: Everyday Lips

I’ve had a beauty revelation.

Let me start by saying I don’t think I’m cut out to be a beauty blogger.  I feel weird taking selfies and think I’m goofy in them.  BUT I’m excited that I have found a super easy beauty “look” that I can pull off everyday.  So, I’m putting my pride aside for the sake of my readers! 🙂

Everyday Lips

I’ll admit, I’ve been guilty of wearing lip gloss for basically my whole life.  I just never got into lipstick.  I hate the smearing, the weird smell, the clumps, and for some reason I felt uncomfortable with bold lip color.  So plain lip gloss it was, and without a second thought.  In fact, my entire makeup routine is practically non-existent on a day-to-day basis.

However, as a wedding present, my brother and his girlfriend (they both technically get credit, but we all know who is responsible for the idea) gifted me a subscription to Birchbox.  Last month’s box contained a chunky lip pencil: Mirenesse Glossy Kiss #14 Perfect Kiss.  It was love at first swipe.

It is just the right amount of color– a bright pop of coral-ish pink a little bit outside of my comfort zone, but not so much that I wouldn’t wear it.  Since it is a pencil, it has a matte finish, but still offers a hint of shimmer.  It is incredibly light feeling and has absolutely zero clumps.  It is the perfect lip color for everyday wear.  I finally feel like a grown-up!

A Major Plus: it makes my eyes amazingly green instead of the grey they sometimes appear– the above photo is not retouched at all!  (The only reason I did a selfie is to show how the lip color enhances my eyes.)

Supposedly you can even use this lip pencil as a blush, though I haven’t tried it yet.  Here is what it looks like on my hand so you can get an idea of the color of the pencil itself:

Mirenesse Glossy Kiss #14 Perfect Kiss

If you’re like me you probably think “why bother” putting on makeup just to run your daily errands.  But if you’re like me, most days you also probably feel like a Plain Jane too!  Honestly, I don’t care what strangers at the grocery store think about my appearance, but it is amazing how something so simple as a fun lip color can make you feel better!  And that is what matters!

Share your thoughts :)

