kid's room decorating ideas for the not-so-crafty mom

Kid’s Room Decorating Ideas for the Not-So-Crafty Mom

As much as I would love to be amazingly handy, I have accepted that I am not a DIY prodigy.  Though I was a dedicated art student in high school, those creative talents did not translate into crafting abilities.

However, there are times when I have little bursts of inspiration, or ideas that somehow just work.  I know that there are other craft-challenged mamas out there, so I wanted to share a couple that are fun touches for a child’s bedroom and most importantly, are easy.

craft letters

These are wooden letters you can purchase for a couple bucks at any decor or art supply store.  I used a hot glue gun to adhere colorful pipe cleaners.  It’s a very simple process, though slightly time intensive.  I do have to admit that it was my mom who suggested this project, but what a great idea–I love how these turned out!

kid's room pipe cleaner letter wall art

Here is a look at the back side– it doesn’t have to be pretty– just make sure there is plenty of glue to keep the pipe cleaners attached.  Also, look for a pre-cut nail slot on the letters you purchase for easier wall hanging.

girl purses

This wall decor idea was even easier!  Lilu’s Grandma loves to buy her little purses, but she had accumulated so many that I started to get frustrated.  What could we even do with all of these?  One day I was drawn to a bare corner of her bedroom and decided to hang a few of the prettiest ones of the bunch.  Four little tacks, five minutes of “work” and voila!  Now this corner sparkles with Grandma’s gifts.

So don’t despair if you aren’t a Pinterest idol!  A kid’s bedroom doesn’t have to be fit for a home decor magazine– it just has to be fun and unique.  Repurposing some of your child’s prized possessions and creating eye-catching name art will make a regular room into their own special space.

Share your thoughts :)

