Alexander Valley Vineyards 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon

Soccer Mom Sommelier: Alexander Valley Vineyards 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon

The hubby is actually very supportive of my blogging.  Every day he bugs me to see if I have written anything and if I haven’t yet, reminds me of how important it is to keep up with new material.  But somehow I have the reputation of being the nag…hmmm!

Another, more appreciated form of support is that every time he goes grocery shopping, he always brings home a new bottle of wine or two for me to try for my Soccer Mom Sommelier section.  This week he presented me with a bottle of Alexander Valley Vineyards 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon.  My last job was Sales & Marketing Manager at a high-end steakhouse– unbeknownst to hubby, this was our house red.  However, I was pregnant most of my time there, so I never had a chance to taste it.  How funny that this is what Mateo grabbed for me!  I was very curious, as house wines are usually nothing to write home about.

I loved this wine at first sip!  I should have known it would be a quality bottle– I spent a few months training under our Wine Director, and he really knew his stuff.  It comes as no surprise that the cabernet he selected for our house red would be more than just your average swill.

While the wine is primarily made from Cabernet Sauvignon grapes (it has to be in order to carry the name), it is blended with small amounts of the classic Bordeaux varietals: Merlot, Petit Verdot, Cabernet Franc, and Malbec.  This, along with 14 months barrel aging adds a complexity not usually found in Cabernets in the bargain price range (this one was right at $15.)

As is common is California reds, Alexander Valley Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon is decidedly fruit-forward.  Black cherries, plums, currants, and ripe blackberries burst on the palate.  What I especially love about this wine is the smooth texture that I can only describe as velvet in your mouth– so unexpectedly luxurious.

I’m enjoying a glass as I type– my reward for cleaning the laundry room (which seems to be the area of the house we let slide– I know I’m not the only one!)  But really, who needs an excuse to have a fabulous glass of red wine?

5 thoughts on “Soccer Mom Sommelier: Alexander Valley Vineyards 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon

Share your thoughts :)

