The Soccer Mom Sommelier: 2013 Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc + Viognier

It’s Friday night so you know what that means– mommy gets to have a glass of wine after the kids are in bed!  I generally prefer red, but I recently stumbled upon a deliciously drinkable white (hubby took note and grabbed a bottle for me for the weekend– definitely earned himself some brownie points!)  Pine Ridge 2013 Chenin Blanc + Viognier is an interesting, non-traditional combination of varietals (80% Chenin Blanc, 20% Viognier).  It’s really affordable too– I got it for around ten bucks.  What’s not to love?

In my “past life” as a working mom I did some time as a sommelier, so while I’m no expert, I do know a little about wine.  I’ll provide my unofficial tasting notes–basically what the wine tasted like to me– this may or may not be how the wine is described on the winemaker’s website.  I’m not a wine snob (if it’s not total garbage or spoiled I’ll drink it), so I like to keep it basic.

The wine has a smooth mouth-feel, with a pop of effervescence, which especially after just poured gives it a hint of “sparkle.”  The nose is bright and citrusy; on the palate I get apple, golden pear, peach, and lemon with a hint of floral.  To keep it super simple: it tastes and smells really good and I like that it has a few bubbles– it does not have that flat taste that some whites do.

So, if you’re like me and treat yourself occasionally after a long week– go get this wine!  It would also be great if you’re having company over– it’s so easy to drink that it will definitely be a crowd pleaser.

Happy Friday mamas!

Share your thoughts :)

